How do I troubleshoot profile disconnections?
Table of Contents
Occasionally, a profile connected to Sprout becomes disconnected and requires reauthorization. This typically occurs due to a network update or requirement, rather than an issue with your Sprout account.
Completing a reauthorization for your profile ensures that Sprout Social can access the permissions necessary to allow you to manage received messages in the Smart Inbox, publish content to your profile via Sprout, and access performance data for Sprout Reporting.
What caused my profile to disconnect?
The most common cause for an unexpected profile disconnection will be a change in the native permissions assigned to the individual user who connected the profile in Sprout. That said, certain networks have requirements that will require more frequent reauthorization.
How do I reconnect my profile?
When a profile becomes disconnected, Sprout sends an email to the Account Owner and anyone with the ability to connect new profiles to the account. A user who receives the email can action the reauthorization directly from their email by clicking the Reauthorize Profile(s) button.
This will open Sprout in a separate tab and direct the user to the Notifications Drawer where they can filter notifications by Profile Issues. Clicking the individual profile notification will allow the user to access the Reauthorize button to reestablish the connection.
Alternatively, Sprout users assigned the Manage Profiles permission can easily filter and action disconnected profiles within Settings > Groups & Social Profiles.
What permissions are required for a reauthorization?
Sprout User Permissions
In Sprout, the user will need to be assigned Manage Profiles within their Company permissions in addition to being assigned access to the profile.
If a user does not have the Manage Profiles permission assigned, they will see a note in the Notifications Drawer that they will need to contact their Account Owner or another Sprout admin for assistance completing the reauthorization.
Native Profile Permissions and Access
The native permissions required will vary for each network. You can find guides for specific networks below:
Meta Ad Accounts: How do I connect my Meta Ad Account?
Threads: How do I connect my Threads profile?
Pinterest : How do I connect my Pinterest profile to Sprout?
Snapchat: How do I connect my Snapchat Public Profile in Sprout?
Reddit: How to Connect a Reddit Account
If the profile doesn’t successfully reconnect after clicking Reauthorize from the Notification Drawer, or Reconnect from Settings> Groups & Social Profiles, this could indicate that you are not assigned the necessary permissions or access on the native network.
We would recommend checking the information in the specific network guides above to confirm your current access.
I have confirmed I have the correct permissions but the profile reauthorization is not going through – what do I do?
As a first step, we would recommend attempting the reauthorization while logged into Sprout using a private browser window. This will ensure that you are prompted to log in to the corresponding profile and re-enter any two-factor authentication that may be in place for the native profile login.
Private windows are available in browsers such as Safari, Firefox and Google Chrome. Use the following shortcuts to browse in private mode:
- Windows, Linux or Chrome OS: Press Ctrl + Shift + n.
- Mac: Press ⌘ + Shift + n.
Once you opened Sprout in a new private window, you can try the steps again to reconnect the profile.
If the issues persist, contact Sprout Support for further assistance. Our team can review your native permissions and attempt additional troubleshooting steps to help pinpoint the issue.
Which networks require periodic reauthorization?
Instagram Profiles using the Connect via Meta authentication type will require reauthorization every 90 days. If you would prefer to avoid this 3-month reauthorization cycle, we would recommend switching to the Connect via Instagram authentication type.
More information on updating your Instagram connection method can be found in this article: What to know about connecting Instagram Profiles via Instagram Credentials in Sprout
LinkedIn's API requires profile reauthorization every year. Users get notified of an impending disconnection within the Notification Drawer 17 days prior to the disconnection occurring, as well as another notification 5 days before the expiration. You can reauthorize at any point within that 17 day timeframe.
If a LinkedIn Company Page becomes disconnected, any queued and scheduled messages will fail to publish until the page is reconnected.
What does it mean if my profile is listed under "Profile Updates" or shows "Profile Update Available"?
This indicates that a new function has been released in Sprout that will require updating your current connection in order to access the necessary permissions to support this function. Profiles with this status are still considered connected in Sprout, however, in order to access the newly supported function, your team will need to follow the prompts to update the connection.
Was this article helpful?