Sprout Queue and ViralPost
Table of Contents
New to Sprout Social? Learn more about our Sprout Queue, ViralPost and Optimal Send Times here.
The Sprout Queue is a great way to add multiple posts for your profiles and publish them automatically throughout the day. Used as a complement to your existing publishing strategy, the Queue streamlines the distribution of content that isn't time-sensitive.
This article explains how to configure and use the Sprout Queue, as well as gives you a thorough understanding of how ViralPost works, so you can use it to maximize the potential velocity of the content you send across your social profiles.
#SproutTip: The Sprout Queue is great for evergreen blog posts, tips about your product, pictures of kittens, etc.
Configuring Sprout Queue Settings
In order to manage your Sprout Queue settings, you will need to be assigned the Manage Sprout Queue Publishing feature permission.
To manage your Sprout Queue Settings
- Navigate to Account and settings > Settings > Publishing.
- Click Sprout Queue.
Here, you can see all your connected social profiles and how they're currently configured in the Sprout Queue.
Scheduling Methods for the Sprout Queue
There are two options when it comes to content management within the Sprout Queue: Viral Post or Manual Times.
Scheduling with Manual Send Times
- Select one or more profiles.
-
Click Edit or Edit Multiple if you selected more than one profile. The Configure Queue Settings modal appears.
- Select your Scheduling Method for the profiles, by selecting Manual times that you set yourself.
- Set your Post Time Settings.
- Select Individual Day or Weekdays/Weekends from the Set By dropdown.
- Click the dropdown for each individual day or weekday/weekend to set specific times.
- Click Add Another and select the hour, minute and AM or PM time to post. You can add up to 10 times per day.
- Click Save.
- Select Individual Day or Weekdays/Weekends from the Set By dropdown.
- (Optional) Select Use these settings when adding new profiles.
- Click Save on the Configure Queue Settings modal.
Scheduling with ViralPost
Sprout's patented ViralPost technology takes the guesswork out of scheduling for you. Instead of manually configuring the Sprout Queue, enable ViralPost in the Configure Queue Settings modal. To configure the Queue with ViralPost:
- Select one or more profiles.
- Click Edit or Edit Multiple if you selected more than one profile. The Configure Queue Settings modal appears.
- Select your Scheduling Method for the profiles, by selecting ViralPost.
- Set your ViralPost Settings. To do this:
- Select whether you want to set ViralPost times by the Individual Day or Weekdays/Weekends.
- Select the number of times to post from the dropdown.
- Set your time range by selecting the hour, minute and am/pm time for each day or weekday/weekend.
- Select whether you want to set ViralPost times by the Individual Day or Weekdays/Weekends.
- Click Save.
ViralPost can release content up to 10 times per profile, per day.
Adding a Post to your Sprout Queue
After you configured your Queues for your social profiles, you can put them into practice when drafting your content.
In the Compose Window, select Sprout Queue from the When to Post dropdown menu. From there, you can select the placement of your post within the Queue.
Queue Next adds your post to the top of the Queue. Queue Last adds it to the end. You can have up to 50 posts queued per profile at a time.
Managing Queued Content
To manage content in the Sprout Queue, navigate Publishing > Sprout Queue.
The dropdown menu in the top right corner displays your Queue Profiles and includes the number of posts currently queued.
After selecting a profile, that profile's Queue Settings will populate within the side panel when clicking Queue Times.
Manually configured Queues show designated content release times. Queues using ViralPost show the designated content release timeframe.
Management options for queued posts appear along the bottom of each message.
You can also drag and drop messages to arrange them in the preferred order.
Pausing the Queue
In the event that something occurs in the world that takes precedence over your social content, you can select Pause All within your Sprout Queue Settings
To turn off an individual Queue, click the Edit button that corresponds with that profile. In the Configure Queue Settings modal, toggle the Sprout Queue Status to Off.
Any content in your Sprout Queue remains until the Queue is Active, at which point, the Queue determines new publishing times for all posts.
Disabling the Queue
Disabling the Sprout Queue deletes all messages currently queued, removes it as an option when composing messages and removes it from the left navigation bar of the Publishing tab.
To clear all content within your Sprout Queue, click Disable Sprout Queue at the top of the Queue settings page. This will open a pop up window asking you to confirm your decision.
Back to Top 
Was this article helpful?