Internal tagging
Table of Contents
Tagging is only available on Professional and Advanced plans.
Internal Tagging in Sprout allows you to categorize your outgoing content and incoming messages to better analyze patterns and align your marketing strategies, workflows, and business goals.
User Permissions for Sprout Tagging
Sprout tags are configured within an Account’s Tag Management Settings.
- Users with the Apply Tags permission can search for and apply existing tags to content within the Compose Window, Calendar, Smart Inbox, Cases and Reporting.
- Users with the Manage Tags permission are able to create, edit, delete, archive and unarchive tags from these Settings, as well as add new tags on the fly while searching for tags in the Compose Window, Calendar, Smart Inbox, Cases and Reporting.
| Action | Permission Required | Plan Required |
| Apply tags to posts, Inbox messages, and Sprout Cases | Apply Tags | Professional+ |
| Access the Tag Management page | Manage Tags | Professional+ |
| Create, edit, archive or delete tags | Manage Tags | Professional+ |
| Access and manage Tag Collections | Manage Tag Collections | Advanced+ |
| Assign tag permissions to other users | Manage Permissions | Professional+ |
Assigning Tag Permissions to a User
In order to grant tag permissions to another user, you will need to be assigned Manage Permissions in your Company Permissions.
Once granted Manage Permissions, follow these steps to assign tag permissions to a user:
- Navigate to Settings > Roles & Team Members > Teams & Members
- Locate the user whose permissions you are looking to adjust, and click into their listed Organizational Role.
-
All preset Roles will have Apply Tags enabled. The following preset Organization Roles will have Manage Tags enabled:
- Super Admin
- Social Media Manager
- Care Admin
- Care Manager
-
Select an Organizational Role that will have the appropriate level of tag permissions enabled, or switch to Custom Permissions to tailor things to your specific needs for the user.
- Enable Apply Tags within the Feature Permissions for Smart Inbox, Cases, Publishing, or Reviews to enable this action across all assigned features for the user.
- Enable Manage Tags within Company Permissions to give the user permission to create and edit tags. This includes renaming, archiving or unarchiving existing tags and including tags in specific groups. For Advanced Plan users, you can also enable Manage Tag Collections
- Enable Apply Tags within the Feature Permissions for Smart Inbox, Cases, Publishing, or Reviews to enable this action across all assigned features for the user.
- Click Save.
Managing Tags
After a user is set up with the appropriate tagging permissions, they can start configuring tags within Tag Management. You can have a maximum of 10,000 active and archived tags for an account.
- Navigate to Settings > Global Features > Tag Management
- Select the All Tags dropdown in the top left corner to adjust your visibility as needed
- If you are on the Advanced Plan, you have the option to organize tags using Tag Collections. Depending on your permissions and plan-level, you will see the option to add both tag collections and tags in this view.
- Click Add Tag to open the Add Tag window
- From there you can enter the Tag name, and specify the Sprout Groups and corresponding Tag Collection (Advanced Plan) for the tag.
- Click Create Tag.
To edit active tags:
- Navigate to Settings > Global Features > Tag Management
- Click the three dot menu
of the tag you want to edit.
- Click Edit Tag to open the Edit Tag Window
-
Update the Tag name or update the Groups the tag is available in.
- Click Save changes.
Archiving vs Deleting Tags
Unlike deleting, archiving a tag preserves its history by keeping it attached to previously assigned posts and messages. Completely deleting a tag, on the other hand, permanently removes it and all associated records from Sprout.
- You can't apply archived tags to messages or posts, but you can unarchive tags at any time to resume using them. We recommend archiving tags for any performance tracking that has been completed.
- When deleting a tag, the updated delete flow clearly displays the consequences — including how many messages, posts, and assets are affected — before you confirm.
Archived tags can be found in the Inactive tags section of Tag Management
Managing Tags in Bulk
If you manage a large number of tags, the Tag Management page includes tools to help you organize them more efficiently:
- Bulk move tags to Groups — Select multiple tags using the checkboxes, then click Move to assign them to one or more Groups in a single action.
- Control how Group changes apply — When moving tags, choose to keep them in their current Groups and add the new ones, or remove them from current Groups and move exclusively to the selected Groups.
These tools are available to all users with the Manage Tags permission
Back to Top 
Was this article helpful?