Connecting & Managing Social Profiles

A social profile is a third-party social network profile or page you add to Sprout Social. With each social profile you connect to Sprout, you can manage conversations, plan and publish content, as well as view extensive analytics for them. We recommended that you add any social profile you want to manage as soon as possible after creating your Sprout account, as information relevant to your social profiles can only be gathered once they've been successfully authorized.

This guide will help you understand how to connect and manage your social profiles in Sprout.

Social Profiles Overview

Currently, Sprout Social integrates with the following social networks:

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Google+
  • Instagram 
  • Pinterest

Depending upon your plan level and when you created your Sprout account, your profile limit will vary. The following profile types count against your profile limit:

  • Twitter profiles
  • Facebook profiles
  • Facebook Pages
  • LinkedIn Company Pages
  • Google+ Pages
  • Instagram Profiles
  • Pinterest profiles

The following profile types can be connected to Sprout, but do not count against your profile limit:

  • LinkedIn personal profiles
  • Facebook ad account
  • Instagram Business add-on (must be connected after associated Instagram Profile is connected)
  • Google Analytics

NoteSprout does not integrate with Facebook groups, LinkedIn groups, LinkedIn university or Google+ personal profiles.

Additionally, Sprout supports integrations with the following services, which do not count against your social profile limit:

  • Feedly
  • Zendesk
  • UserVoice

 

Connecting Social Profiles to Sprout

Anyone with the Manage Profiles & Permissions privilege can connect a social profile to Sprout.

To connect a profile:

  1. Click Screen_Shot_2018-03-07_at_3.12.49_PM.png in the upper-right corner.
  2. Select the network you'd like to add. There may be additional options to select based on the network you chose.
  3. Click the button in the lower right corner of the Connect a Profile screen.
  4. You will be sent to the corresponding network's site. Follow the prompts to authorize the profile.

connect_profile.gif

Tip: Be sure to log out of your personal profiles on networks like Twitter or Instagram before attempting to add your company's profiles for those networks, so you don't accidentally connect your own profiles to Sprout.

If you are attempting to connect a Facebook Company Page or LinkedIn Company Page, ensure that you are an admin for the page.

 

Removing Social Profiles

Anyone with the Manage Profiles & Permissions privilege can remove a social profile, as long as they have at least Read Only publishing permissions for that profile.

To remove a profile:

  1. Click Screen_Shot_2018-03-12_at_2.53.11_PM.png in the upper-right corner.
  2. Select Users & Social Profiles.
  3. On the next page, look to the right panel and scroll through the All Profiles section to find the profile you want to remove.
  4. Click Screen_Shot_2018-03-12_at_2.53.30_PM.png on the profile and select View Profile.
  5. On the following screen, click Screen_Shot_2018-03-12_at_2.53.48_PM.png in the upper-right corner to remove the profile.

Was this article helpful?

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Powered by Zendesk