Shared Content Calendar

New to Sprout Social? Learn more about how our Content Calendar fits into our social media publishing suite here.

Sprout’s Content Calendar enables you to visualize and manage your social campaigns. Whether you’re on a large team and need to collaborate more effectively, or you’re a one-person show and want to see all of your planned messages at a glance, the Content Calendar gives you the big picture and provides one place to manage each individual post.

This article contains the following sections:

Content Calendar Overview

To navigate to the Calendar, click Publishing in the left menu bar, and then click Calendar at the top of the left navigation bar.

Calendar_Home.png

 

Customize the date range by clicking the timeframe selector in the upper-left corner of the Calendar. Filter by profiles and/or Content Types in the right panel.

Download or send a PDF of the calendar by clicking Export at the top of the right panel. 

Note: Users on Professional and Advanced plans can filter by Tags at the top of the right panel, as well as perform bulk scheduling of posts. To learn more about bulk scheduling, check out this helpful article.

Calendar_Options_GIF.gif

Content Calendar Views

Sprout’s Calendar offers three separate views: List, Week and Month.

Toggle between these in the upper-right corner of the Calendar. In List and Week views, clicking Another_X_to_Clear_All_from_Publishing.pnghides the daily message volume bars. Click Smart_Inbox_Overflow_Menu.png and then click Toggle Volume Chart to show the daily message volume bars.

Toggle_Volume_Chart_GIF.gif

List View

This view is best when you want an idea of the order your posts will be released. Messages in List View display whether they are Scheduled, Queued or Sent in the upper-left corner of the message. If applicable, Drafts and messages pending approval are displayed with extra visual indicators.

Click an image thumbnail to expand the preview. With scheduled messages you can:

  • Make edits to the post, by clicking Hollow_Edit.png
  • Send the post immediately, by clicking Send_Now.png
  • Delete the post, by clicking Hollow_Trash_Bin.png
  • Duplicate the post, by clicking Hollow_Duplicate.png
  • Preview the post, by clicking Preview_Eye.png
  • View all Approval Activity by clicking Hollow_Approval_Activity.png

You can duplicate Queued messages by clicking Hollow_Duplicate.png

To manage queued content, visit the Sprout Queue section in the left navigation bar. You can also share your list view with stakeholders and team members. For more information, see Calendar Link Sharing.

Week View

The week view makes it easy to identify gaps on a day-by-day basis within your Content Calendar.

Week_View.png

Click an image thumbnail to expand the preview. With scheduled messages you can:

  • Make edits to the post, by clicking Hollow_Edit.png
  • Send the post immediately, by clicking Send_Now.png
  • Delete the post, by clicking Hollow_Trash_Bin.png
  • Duplicate the post, by clicking Hollow_Duplicate.png
  • Preview the post, by clicking Preview_Eye.png
  • View all Approval Activity by clicking Hollow_Approval_Activity.png

Month View

For insight into your broader content strategy, use the Month view, to see each day of the month with counts for posts across networks, enabling you to spread posts apart more effectively and add or remove content to form a more well-rounded social strategy.

Month_View.png

When you click on the network post counts for a given day, a preview of the messages set for release on that day appear.

Month_View_Preview.png

Click an image thumbnail to expand the preview. With scheduled messages you can:

  • Make edits to the post, by clicking Hollow_Edit.png
  • Send the post immediately, by clicking Send_Now.png
  • Delete the post, by clicking Hollow_Trash_Bin.png
  • Duplicate the post, by clicking Hollow_Duplicate.png
  • Preview the post, by clicking Preview_Eye.png
  • View all Approval Activity by clicking Hollow_Approval_Activity.png

Note: Users on Professional and Advanced plans can hover over Tag.png to see tags applied to posts.

Internal Content Calendar Comments

You can discuss messages with your teammates before they're published through the calendar. For example, you might see a piece of media in Scheduled, Drafts or Queued in your Publishing Calendar that doesn't quite fit your brand standards. Leave a comment to your team member to discuss and potentially change the media.

To leave an internal comment:

  1. Navigate to Publishing.
  2. Locate the message you want to leave a comment on.
  3. Click Screen_Shot_2020-09-04_at_9.21.44_AM.png or Screen_Shot_2020-09-04_at_9.21.53_AM.png.
    Message-Activity-Layer.png
  4. Enter the comment to your teammate. 
  5. Enter the names of the users you want to notify from the Tag users to notify section.
  6. Click Submit Comment
    Internal-Comment.png

The user you selected receives a notification to make the update.

Content Calendar FAQs

Which Calendar views display Sent messages?
Sent Messages can be viewed in List and Week views; they aren't displayed in Month view. 

I'm editing a post from the Calendar. What happened to the Stamp icon?
You can only initiate approval requirements when a message is originally created in Compose. 

Was this article helpful?

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Powered by Zendesk