Why did my profile get disconnected?

Occasionally, a profile connected to Sprout will become disconnected and require reauthorization. This typically occurs due to a network requirement, rather than an issue with your Sprout account.

The most common reasons profiles become disconnected are:

  • The password for the page or the admin was changed.
  • The admin that connected the profile lost admin access.
  • The admin that connected the profile has been removed.

When a profile is disconnected, Sprout is unable to retrieve information about it. Therefore, inbound messages in the Smart Inbox, publishing of new messages (including those previously scheduled or queued), and reporting for the profile will be impacted.

Reauthorizing a profile as quickly as possible is recommended to mitigate any data loss. Sprout will send an email to the Account Owner and anyone with the ability to connect new profiles to the account.

To reauthorize a profile, click Screen_Shot_2018-02-13_at_11.49.53_AM.png in the upper left corner of the application. If you have the proper permissions, click the profile you want to reconnect and you will be walked through the reauthorization process.

While the reasons listed at the top of the article are the most common causes for profile disconnection, some networks have different requirements or API limitations that can cause more frequent disconnects.

Instagram

An Instagram profile can become disconnected from Sprout if the login information has been shared between too many devices. This is due to security measures put into place by Instagram. To remedy this, simply reauthorize the profile if it becomes disconnected and be mindful of how frequently you share login information with your team members.

Note: This only applies to regular Instagram profiles. Instagram Business Profiles should not be affected by this.

Read more about Instagram Business Profiles

LinkedIn

LinkedIn's API requires profile reauthorization every 60 days. Users will be notified of an impending disconnect in the upper-left corner of the app 12 days prior to disconnect. You can reauthorize at any point within that 12 day timeframe. 

Google+

Google+ pages can only be reauthorized by the user who originally connected the page to Sprout.

Note: If you are experiencing issues with profile reauthorization, please contact support@sproutsocial.com.

Was this article helpful?

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Powered by Zendesk