Facebook App Privacy Settings

Facebook’s privacy settings allow users to deny or limit access to third-party platforms. When a Facebook user has turned off access to third-party platforms, you will not be able to contact them outside of Facebook.com. If a user selected content not be shared with third-party platforms, for example, photos or videos, they will not appear in Sprout. You will have to reply to them within Facebook.com. In these cases, Sprout will provide you with a link to the content in Facebook.com so you can conveniently reply.

 

Q: How does this work? Can you show me?

A: The options to deny or limit third-party access are in the app settings. To view them, do the following:

1. Go to your personal page on Facebook.com. (These settings are specific to personal pages.)

2. Select Settings > See More Settings > Apps

App_Settings.png

3. In App Settings, look for Apps You Use.  Click Edit.  There you will find the Turn Off Platform button, which controls whether Facebook sends information to third-party platforms or apps, such as Sprout Social.  Additionally, there is a description of this setting and how it changes the user’s Facebook experience.

 App_Settings2.png

4. Users can also limit access based on content type.  In App Settings, look for the Apps others use section.  Click Edit.  A list of content will appear with checkboxes.  Users can deselect content they do not want to share with third-party providers.  If a user has deselected content, you may have to reply to them within Facebook.com.

 App_Settings.png

Was this article helpful?

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Powered by Zendesk